DVDVR Message Board

WRESTLER OF THE DAY: VAMPIRO

RIPPA

It's gonna be another week of Wrestlers Rippa Hates here on the WOTD.

And hoo boy do I hate Vampiro (which we kinda touched on in the ICP thread in the last Hate Week).

God - if I discover any of you voting for him for the WON HOF so help me God.

I'm no super expert on Lucha Libre, so why is Vampiro such a big deal down in Mexico?  Is he even actually a big deal?

He was, yeah, he basically lucked into the perfect gimmick at the right time and the crowd fell in love with him.  One of the lucha guys can explain it more in depth, but it's kinda like how Hulk Hogan didn't need to be a great technician or a great logical talker or a great anything, as long as they had something that the fans went crazy for, at a time when wrestling was at its white-hot peak of popularity.  Same deal here, (except in Mexico it's arguable when the peak STARTED, I suppose, but they were running multiple shows in the same arena or MORE on the SAME DAY).  And he's been riding that train into a career full of botched spots and self-serving lies ever since.  TSM's We Watch Shitty WCW Club exposed him as being one of the dirt worst when it came to sloppiness, protecting people properly, etc.  

Oof.  God it pains me to explain anything positive about Vampiro but...yeah.  He came to CMLL in 91 with a gimmick the ladies liked.  Why?  Who knows?  He came in with little training and was horrible.  His gimmick and look got him over then CMLL/Antonio Pena pushed him to the moon.  Long story short, he got into a main events with guys like Pirata Morgan, Konnan, Cien Caras and Perro Aguayo within months of his debut - entirely based on women liking his look.

And he never got better.  He has always sucked.  Grrr.

Around the online community, Vamp got hype from Bob Barnett something fierce so people who didn't watch Lucha were suckered into believing he was something worth watching when he got to WCW.  

Jesus.  Fuck Vampiro.