DVDVR Message Board

Getting into comics

Liam

Posting on my phone, so will be short and sweet for the time being.

I've always fancied getting into comics, but the comic universe always seems pretty daunting, with the history, reboots and different universes.

As a complete novice, where is the 'best place' to start?

Right here. Arguably the greatest comic writer ever (and comic fans will argue with such passion over such infinitesimal minutiae that they make obsessive heavy-metal fans look like dilettantes) writing a wide array of different well-known and not-so-well-known DC characters, including some of the medium's most beloved classics. The collection skips and dips among various different titles in various different tones, making it a nice primer for anyone who's not terribly familiar with this stuff; and some of them include events whose repercussions are STILL being felt in various ways. EDIT: There's a new reprint of this book that DC recently put out, but the print quality is shitty and DC actually took Batman: The Killing Joke out of the collection, for reasons that will remain forever unfathomable to us all.

Probably at the request of Bolland, who hates the coloring in the original version and redid it all himself for the definitive edition. Or else they just realized it was dumb to have TKJ in a $25 omnibus while they were selling it by itself for $20.

my recommendation is to pick a few characters you're interested in (for example, Batman) and then read some solo stories (ex. Year One) and some group stories with them as the main focus (ex. Tower of Babel).  Find out what kind of stuff you enjoy reading, and go from there.

P.S. Anything with Alan Moore is also highly recommended.