DVDVR Message Board

Your reading ritual?

Liam

Just a topic I thought might be interesting - what/where/when do you read? Are you the type who devours books hour upon hour of an evening, or (like me) do you tend to grab a chapter or two in the bath, or before bed time? Do you have a specific time/place/setting for reading?

I very rarely read for the sake of reading during the day - I tend to be playing PS3/watching TV/working (I'm a teacher). I usually read in the bath or before I go to bed. Also, if I'm down at my fiance's families' house, I read a lot - she is usually cooking/baking with her Mum. I also tend to read a lot when on holiday - polished off three (albeit short) books whilst away in Brussels this week for a few days.

I used to love reading and would do it whenever I had free time. Ironically over the past two years, I've purchased more books than I ever have before, yet I spend the least amount of time reading these days. I'm big on the long fantasy trilogies/sagas, so they're quite time consuming as well as having a sharp memory to recall names and places. I find I get burned out on those and will switch to something a bit easier to digest. I'm contemplating spending weekends on the couch with a book to get my reading time back up to normal.

Oh, and worth asking - do you read one book at a time? Or do you bounce around?

I have a habit of bouncing between several books at once. I usually have a non-fiction book on the go, whilst also a lighter fiction and a more epic fiction story as well. This doesn't always work well for me, as I sometimes burn out on the books I am reading, but I like to cover a variety of genres with my reading.