DVDVR Message Board

WrestlePosium IV: April 1, 2023 @ 8:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST

Lee B.

The Professional Wrestling Studies Association (PWSA) is hosting WrestlePosium IV, which will be taking place on Zoom next Saturday, April 1st from 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. EST.  Panel topics include:

Actual Health, Injuries, and Illness as a Result of Pro Wrestling

Representations of Health, Injury, and Illness in Professional Wrestling

Wrestling in Cyberspace and Beyond

Wrestling in Academia and Overseas

Abraham Reisman, author of "True Believer: The Rise and Fall of Stan Lee" and the upcoming "Ringmaster: Vince McMahon and the Unmaking of America", will provide the academic keynote address.  

Mike Lackey, who wrote the WCW comic published by Marvel comics in 1992-1993, will provide the professional keynote address.

[Personal note: I worked in the same office for a short time as Mike Lackey when I was an intern at Marvel Comics in 1990.  I invited Mike to speak, and he told me: "my talk will be about wrestlers as superheroes. Working with Turner licensing, and experiences with Scott Hall & Marc Mero. All good, fun, positive stories with some good laughs." I am really looking forward to Mike's talk!]

You can find more information and register for free at https://www.prowrestlingstudies.org/wrestleposium-iv-april-1-2023/

Best regards,

Lee Benaka

PWSA Non-Academic Representative

1 hour ago, Tarheel Moneghetti said:

I misread the title as “WrestlePossum” and, boy, was I curious.

Despite the lack of Possum content, I still think Wrestleposium IV is worth checking out!  Cheers, Lee

On 3/27/2023 at 2:37 PM, odessasteps said:

I should dig out some of the stuff I wrote back in the 90s. Sadly, Ted and I did not overlap at Bowling Green, when I think he was doing wrestling stuff but my interest at the time was more about metatext.